National Merit Scholarship Program Names Commended Students


Andrei Abarientos, Adam Chasse, Stephen King, Matt O’Connor, Mario Pugliese, Will Schneider, and Liam Sheeley, each a member of the Class of 2022 at Xavier High School, have been named Commended Students in the National Merit Scholarship Program.

Earlier in the month Aidan Higgins ’22 was named a semifinalist and is now eligible to become a finalist.

Higgins was recognized at the Opening of School Mass. The Commended Students were not known at that point so they will be recognized on the evening of Oct. 7 at the National Honor Societies and Distinguished Scholar Program at Xavier.

Each year about 1.5 million students enter the National Merit Scholarship program by taking their PSAT in their junior year. Only 50,000 are recognized nationally. Of those, about 16,000 are named semifinalists for their outstanding performance and 34,000 become Commended Students.